Child Passenger Safety Law In Florida

  • That up to 9/10 car seats are NOT installed correctly?
  • The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that all infants and toddlers should ride in rear-facing seats, as long as possible, until they have reached the highest height or weight allowed by their car seat manufacturer?
  • It is now a LAW in many states that children rear-face until the age of 2?
  • ​That some seats are rear-facing only or forward-facing only?
  • ​That weight, height and age are important in determining the right time to transition from rear-facing to forward-facing, or into a booster, or into a seat belt, or into the front seat?
  • That most car seat systems require you to use either the seat belt OR the LATCH system?
  • That in order to use the lower anchor in the seat, the combined weight of the car seat and the child cannot exceed 65# for most vehicles?
  • Harness strap heights differ depending on the way the child is riding?
  • The minimum recommended age to start riding in a booster seat is age 4?
  • Children should ride in a booster seat until they reach 4'9"?
  • Car seats have expiration dates? 
  • The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration releases and regularly updates a recall list for car seats?​
  • That if your car seat has been in a vehicle involved in a collision it may need to be replaced?
  • ​That seat belts have a locking feature that often needs to be engaged for the car seat to be secure? Did you know that if the seat belt doesn't lock and there is no locking mechanism in the car seat, a locking clip must be used?
  • That to use your car seat onboard an aircraft it must have a label with FAA approval for airplane use?
  • Car seats can REDUCE the risk of serious injury as compared to seat belts alone?

Did You Know

MARIA@MYCARSEATINSTALL.COM
 714.478.1225

It is the responsibility of the supervising adult to ensure that any child under 5 years old is seated in a federally-approved child car seat. Failure to do so could result in a $60 fine and 3 points against your driver's license.

Children 3 years old and younger must use a separate car-seat or the vehicle's built-in child seat.


Children 4 through 5 years must sit in either a separate car seat, a built in child seat or a seat belt, depending on the child's height and weight.


Children 5 years old or younger must be secured in a federally approved child restraint system.
 
Though not required, the DHSMV recommends children 12 years old and under to ride in the back seat of the vehicle when possible. This is due to safety concerns for air bag deployment, which can be dangerous for young children.

Children under 18 years old must be in a seatbelt. 

You can view the child passenger safety law in Florida here.